Baggage Claim: Letting Go

QTc0N0M1OTU0MzZDMDJENEVGQUY6MjMwNGJlNWMyOGRkNDY3NTRhYzg5MmE5OWRiMzc0NTM6Ojo6OjA=.png

Letting go is probably the hardest thing for any human being to do. Whether it’s letting go of a person that you want in your life, letting go of a relationship that took years to build, hurt that won’t go away, a chosen career path that may not be the right niche or fit any longer, or the death of a loved one.

I think many of us can agree that letting go is work ! YES HARD WORK! Letting go of something that was really important to us and that we cherished and loved is not going to Β take just a day, a week, a month, or even a year sometimes, to get over.

We have to understand Β letting go of anything of value in life is a process.

Through the process, however, you learn how to build endurance and strength.

In our process of letting go, finding joy and strength in the Lord is a must! In order to grow in life you have to let go of things that stagnant your growth.

In my process of ‘letting go’ of people and things that no longer serve purpose in my life, I have developed a hard outer shell that now makes it difficult for new people to come in and develop a friendship with me.

Now that I’m older and have seen some of my long term friendships fall apart, I sometimes develop a fear of getting close to people. This is out of fear of rejection, betrayal, and termination of a friendship.

What I have to constantly realize is that no matter what happens in life, God always has my back and will never leave me. When I let go of the what ifs, how comes, and whys in life, I give him total control and authority over my life to do what is best for me.

Letting go is hard mainly because humans like to be in control all the time. We spazz out when we don’t have control over our current situations or circumstances. It makes us feel uneasy and as if we have no power.

To give a Spirit that we can’t see total control to change how we feel, our circumstances, and what we currently see in our lives as ‘failures’ is even harder to swallow.

But that’s when faith comes in ! Faith Β is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.

So in this journey just know that as long as you have courage to let go and the faith to know things will get better, while holding on to God, you will be able to overcome the hard work of ‘letting go’ of the impossible.

 

Leave a Reply

