Looks Can Be Deceiving: Everything On Social Media Isn’t What It Seems

386876_10152039176705440_1813397297_n

Social media has made us obsessed with making life always look GREAT ! Yes in the world of social media , appearances are everything. We overly post about everything new going on in our lives, but only if it’s good.

25 year old Amber Winn, a merging entrepreneur,  from Detroit Michigan recently  gave her insight on ‘how we brag about all the great things going on in our lives publicly but hide all the bad things happening in our lives secretly.’

It’s almost like we have to show others that we are doing better than what they are doing!

Elite Daily even  suggested that because of  social media, many people are more concerned with proving to the rest of the world that they’re having the time of their lives than actually enjoying themselves.

We can never fully just live in the moment and enjoy it because every second we get we are focused on uploading pictures to Instagram and Snap-Chatting all the moments in our lives.

Everything is based on likes and followers . The more followers you have, the more perfect your life seems to be ! We even think that by looking at all the relationship pictures being posted by couples looking happy, that they never have any problems in their relationship!

Not true!

Winn stumbled across an amazing article  called ‘Where Is My Blessing’ from writer Jamie Rachelle of Blessed & Beautiful.

Jamie Rachelle wrote:

‘Recently, I  took a brief vacation from social media. As soon as I logged back on, I saw so many posts about graduations, weddings, pregnancies & babies, promotions, new cars & houses and smiling faces everywhere. Everyone has it going on these days!

While it gives me great joy to see my friends and associates so happy and blessed, it can also be a bit depressing.

Now I know we are not supposed to compare ourselves or our situations to other people’s, but social media gives us a huge platform to do just that.

It’s so hard not to compare when the only things people post about are good things.

We will post about our big promotion, but won’t tell you about how we struggled to find a job. We are quick to post our new bundle of joy when they’re not even an hour old yet, but we won’t tell you about the miscarriages that came before.

We are quick to post pictures of that luxury car we just bought, but would park all the way on the other side of the parking lot so you wouldn’t see us getting out of that 1995 Toyota Corolla with only 3 hubcaps.’

image

Checkout more of Jamie Rachelle at https://jamierachelle.com/jamie-rachelle/

Social media tends to make us live our life through the looking glass of others!

After reading the article from Jamie Rachelle, Winn  decided to share the article with friends on Facebook and revealed her testimony by sharing what post graduation was like for her.

Winn wrote “Wow. I can relate to this so much. At 21 I graduated from college, sold my Expedition and moved to Atlanta. I knew absolutely nothing about the city nor did I even see the apartment that was located in downtown Atlanta before moving.’

Winn who graduated from Western Michigan University , continued her story by saying ,

‘I flooded social media with different rental cars every week, partied every night, and traveled every week to different places….THEN a year and some change later, I hit rock bottom.

But I was still fronting on the “gram”. Not that I didn’t have family to help but pride wouldn’t let me ask. So with exactly $32.40 in cash barely in my account…. I moved to Cleveland with my favorite cousin, Berta.

Forever grateful, but God COMPLETELY humbled me.

I had to change my relationships with people,my mind, lifestyle and myself in general.

Everyday I WALKED to the library, taught myself how to become a graphic designer and in those 5 months I became debt free, got my favorite truck and got a new apartment as well! Not to mention I got a completely new relationship with God as well.

It became a different type of brag because I knew what it was finally like to not have it.

So basically what I’m getting at is you NEVER know what somebody had to go through or is going through to tell them what they should show you on social media.

And why you should NEVER COMPARE PEOPLE’S HIGHLIGHTS TO YOUR BEHIND THE SCENES.

People only show you what they want you to see, not necessarily what’s really going on. Remember, that’s their business…not yours.

What’s for you is for you and it will never pass you by when it’s your time.

Like this article said “We all have tests before our testimonies, and sometimes, we have a pop quiz right after. It’s ok. It’s not just you. If you’re wondering where your blessing is, just stay faithful and keep pressing on. God has one for you too.

Looks can always be deceiving when it comes to life on social media!

 

 

Leave a Reply

