Confessions With Bre 1.7 : Success Is Not Easy No Matter How Much People Make It Look On Social Media

13230776_10209446464627512_1275987767_o

Photo Credit : @Pimages @Ssirap_Pariss

It’s August and for many of us, it’s the turning point of a new season.  The new school year calendar is approaching, Fall is in one month and  we are 5 months away from entering into the year of 2017 . WOW just that fast!

Although I have accomplished more than I could have imagined within a year, I’m still not where I ultimately want to be in life.

In my mind, I’m pretty far from where I truly want to be.

The bottomline is the journey is not easy no matter how much others or myself make it look on social media.

I cry many nights & days , in the shower, bed  and in my car , and there are multiple occasions when I want to give up. Actually just yesterday I was thinking of quitting one of my jobs . I’m also on the search for job number three all while  working out the kinks of launching my two businesses.

Just last week I had a visit to my career service advisors from my former college because I was feeling a bit weak in moving forward with pursuing my media goals. Although I never told them that, I knew that being in their presence would uplift me and keep me grounded on the right path.

People post about their successes daily on social media. Whether it’s getting a new car, moving into a new home, getting a promotion, being their own boss, getting married, having a child and I’m just still trailing  water.

For God sakes (not using His name in vain… just making sure God isn’t forsaking me ),  I’m still living at my parent’s home at 24, asking them for money, and friends, while  making minimum wage in the industry that I love dearly (with a college degree by the way) because I chose my passion over something that’s going to make me money for the right now.

So for me this is a season of regrouping, reprocessing, NOT BEING DISTRACTED by social media or someone else’s success, and  being patient with the journey God has for me.

 Learning how to be patient with my process is by far the hardest thing I am experiencing currently.

Everyone brags on social media about their process and truth is , well I am still in the rough patches of getting to where I want to go, embracing this journey with welcoming arms, and learning to forgive my past transactions against myself.

 This is a very humbling experience and I  thank God for my right now circumstances and  future endeavors.

My character is developing through these very humbling experiences and I can truly say I am in love with the person God is working on.

‘ Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope.”  (ESV)

Romans 5:3-4

Humbling experiences build character and strength!

Remember real billionaires don’t make a lot of noise, because they don’t want people to know that they have money. People who are humble never acknowledge their humbleness, they allow others to see it for themselves.

So I’m working on being conscious of what I brag about on social media. Every milestone doesn’t need an applause or publicity on social media. Somethings are worth being quiet about until God says ‘open your mouth to speak.’ Because at any moment the road to success can change!

1 thought on “Confessions With Bre 1.7 : Success Is Not Easy No Matter How Much People Make It Look On Social Media”

  1. Now Faith is the substance of things HOPED for the EVIDENCE of things not seen. When our faith becomes mature, that for which we hope will become more real to us than those things which are visible. NOW FAITH IS and THIS IS NOW!! The Greek word, “hupostasis” which is used for “substance” consists of two words, “hupo” – under, and “histemi” – stand. It is that which “stands under”. It is not the object that is hoped for, but rather that which stands under and supports the object, in order to bring it into material manifestation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

