Rihanna Made Me Fall In Love With The Psychedelic Rock Band Tame Impala

tame-impala-1280x720

 

Music is the  one thing that connects us all, and as long as music speaks to the soul in a beautiful way, the genre never matters.

I was introduced to the song ‘Same Ol’ Mistakes’ off of Rihanna’s Anti Album, while learning a few sequences from a pole dance class. The song, so alluring and enticing, placed me in a state of seduction, as I imagined that I was performing a  very intimate routine for my future husband.

However I had no idea that Rihanna’s version of ‘Same Ol Mistakes’  was actually sampled  from an Australian psychedelic rock band, Tame Impala, founded by the lead vocalist, Kevin Parker in 2007.

It wasn’t until seeing the trailer of the new FX series ‘Atlanta’ and hearing an altered adaptation of ‘Same Ol Mistakes’ that made me probe and investigate on who made the song first.

Tame Impala began as a home recording project for Parker,  who  writes, produces , and records most of the music for the band.

The group, who is signed to Interscope Records and tours all over the world, consists of Parker, Jay Watson (Guitar), Dominic Simper (Guitar), Cam Avery (Bass),  Nick Allbrook (Bass) and Julien Barbagallo (Drums).

The sound of Tame Impala can be noted as 70s psychedelic funk mixed with currents of rhythmic contemporary soul, with  swaddles of pop.  Although the group has been out since 2008, their audience is widening and appealing to more and more millennials  across the world vastly.

Tame Impala’s third album,Currents,  which was released last year, expressed Parker and the band members in a ‘blindingly colourful panorama of transitions.’

‘New Person, Same Old Mistakes’ can be found on the Currents EP as well as other favorites ‘Reality In Motion’, ‘ Mind Mischief’ and ‘The Less I Know The Better.’

 

Check out the videos below

 

 

New Person , Same Old Mistakes

I can just hear them now
“How could you let us down?”
But they don’t know what I found
Or see it from this way around

Feeling it overtake
All that I used to hate
One by one every trait
I tried but it’s way too late
All the signs I don’t read
Two sides of me can’t agree
Will I be in too deep?
Going with what I always longed for

Feel like a brand new person
(But you’ll make the same old mistakes)
I don’t care, I’m in love
(Stop before it’s too late)”

 

Mind Mischief 

‘Feels like my life is ready to blow
Me and my love we’ll take it slow
I hope she knows that I’ll love her long
I just don’t know where the hell I belong

How optimism led me astray
Two hundred things I took the wrong way
But I saw her love gauge running low
I tried to fill but it overflowed……’

Leave a Reply

